The Pearlfishers The Young Picnickers (Signed)

Marina Records
8th April 2022

Format Info

2LP - Black Vinyl

Issued in deluxe 2-LP vinyl editions in beautiful gatefold sleeves with enhanced artwork and complete lyrics, all albums feature four (!) bonus tracks each, most of them never released before and not available on any streaming platform.

Three albums of masterful, classic pop music, driven by main man David Scott’s exceptional songwriting which was often compared to Paul McCartney, Burt Bacharach, Jimmy Webb, Todd Rundgren and Brian Wilson. The beautifully crafted arrangements include woodwinds, trumpet, flugel horns, banjo – and real strings! “David Scott’s compositions sound something like The Carpenters and Burt Bacharach – except much more poppy, upbeat, and current!” (Babysue).

These albums also feature some of the finest Scottish musicians. Duglas T Stewart of BMX Bandits co-wrote two songs. Norman Blake of Teenage Fanclub contributed backing vocals on “The Young Picnickers” and co-produced four tracks on “Up With The Larks”. Mick Slaven, one of the most unique guitarists ever (Jazzateers, James Kirk, Paul Quinn & The Independent Group), plays on “Across The Milky Way”. So does trumpet maestro Colin Steele who later recorded an entire album of Pearlfishers songs in terrific jazz arrangements (“Diving For Pearls”, 2017).

A We’re Gonna Save The Summer, An Ordinary Day Out In The Suburbs, We’ll Get By, Blue December

B You Justify My Life, Battersea Bardot, The Young Picnickers, Once There Was A Man

C Over & Over, Every Day I Read Your Stars, Strawberries In The Snow, Stella Painted Joy

D  Bonus Tracks, Already There, David Vs. Godzilla,The Loneliest Bonfire, Since You’ve Asked

Other Releases by The Pearlfishers