Jon Savage presents: The Secret Public: How The LGBTQ+ Aesthetic Shaped Pop Culture 1955-1979

Ace Records
31st May 2024

Format Info

2CD with Signed Postcard

Homosexuality has been a part of post-war popular music since its very inception. Until the early 70s, however, it wasn’t talked about openly in that world: it was coded, hidden, secret. This of course mirrored society – during the 50s and 60s, the gay community felt like outcasts: harassed by the police, demonised by the media and politicians, imprisoned simply for being who they were.

This compilation spans the time before and after Bowie, reflecting both the coded nature about the topic in the 50s and 60s and the greater openness that occurred in the early 70s. It begins in late 1955, with the extraordinary success of Little Richard; continues through early-60s pop and pop art; Tamla and Soul, Glam Rock, the early 70’s funk and disco that was played in the underground New York clubs, and then moves on to the omnipresence of Disco, in the late seventies.

This double CD compilation is about freedom – and freedom for all. Whilst some of the artists identify as LGBTQ+, then or now, some are included simply because they were played in gay or lesbian clubs — where their lyric or sound proved useful and enjoyable to the patrons – or because they were shaped in some way by the gay aesthetic or gay managers. It’s a love letter to the entwined world of music and sexuality in all its many guises and we hope you enjoy the ride.

This compilation will coincide with “The Secret Public: How LGBTQ Resistance Shaped Popular Culture (1955-1979)”  a monumental history of the LGBTQ influence on popular culture from the award-winning Sunday Times bestselling author Jon Savage which will be published by Faber: 06.06.2024.

Side 1

  • 01 Preview  I Hear A New World – Joe Meek & The Blue Men
  • 02 Preview  Tutti-Frutti – Little Richard & His Band
  • 03 Preview  Esquerita And The Voola – Esquerita
  • 04 Preview  Wondrous Place – Billy Fury
  • 05 Preview  Strawberry Blonde (The Band Rocked On) – Frank D’Rone
  • 06 Preview  Foot Stompin’ – The Dovells
  • 07 Preview  Johnny Remember Me – John Leyton
  • 08 Preview  Peppermint Twist (Part 1) – Joey Dee & The Starliters
  • 09 Preview  Sally, Go ‘Round The Roses – The Jaynetts
  • 10 Preview  You Don’t Own Me – Lesley Gore
  • 11 Preview  Needle In A Haystack – The Velvelettes
  • 12 Preview  Get Down With It – Bobby Marchan
  • 13 Preview  I’ll Be Your Mirror – The Velvet Underground & Nico
  • 14 Preview  Heaven Must Have Sent You – The Elgins
  • 15 Preview  Stand Up Straight And Tall – Jackie Shane
  • 16 Preview  Women Is Losers – Big Brother & The Holding Company
  • 17 Preview  No Stranger Am I – Norma Tanega
  • 18 Preview  Pretty Golden Hair – Al Stewart
  • 19 Preview  David Watts – The Kinks
  • 20 Preview  Nothing But A Heartache – The Flirtations
  • 21 Preview  Stand! – Sly & The Family Stone
  • 22 Preview  Life & Death In G & A – Abaco Dream
  • 23 Preview  Nathan Jones – The Supremes
  • 24 Preview  Walk On The Wild Side – Lou Reed
  • 25 Preview  Coochi-Coo – Polly Perkins
  • 26 Preview  I’maman – Jobriath
  • 27 Preview  Soul Makossa – Manu Dibango
  • 28 Preview  Law Of The Land – The Temptations

Other Releases by Jon Savage presents: