Various Artists Cease & Resist - Sonic Subversion & Anarcho Punk In The UK 1979​-​86

Optimo Music
26th May 2023

Format Info

2LP w/Cease & Resist Zine
The vinyl release is a 2 x LP with back and front images designed by Gee Vaucher. It also comes with a 6 page fold out poster on one side with detailed sleeve notes, recollections and essays on the other side. Download comes with pdf of the poster / sleeve notes.
Cease & Resist Zine Only
32 Page Zine, collated from the archives of Chris Low. All proceeds to Faslane Peace Camp and the Scottish Campaign For Nuclear Disarmament Design and Layout by Musho Fernandez

Monorail Exclusive: with Cease & Resist Zine

This compilation is a fundraiser for Faslane Peace Camp. Not so far from Glasgow Faslane Naval Base is home to Britain’ abhorrent Trident nuclear missiles. The camp has been there, protesting since 1982 and is still active to this day. We hope in our lifetime we will see those missiles leave Scottish soil. We have so much respect for those who have dedicated their lives to protesting these weapons and it seemed an obvious choice that the proceeds from this release should go to help them, and the Scottish Campaign for Nuclear Disarmament.

This is a double vinyl retrospective compilation of some of the most radical music ever
made, a musical force that changed lives. Covering the years 1979 – 86 and including
classic tracks from Crass, Poison Girls, Flux Of Pink Indians, The Mob, Zounds, Annie
Anxiety, The Ex, ATV plus 10 more, all newly remastered by iconic Punk mastering engineer Daniel Husayn.

It has been lovingly compiled by JD Twitch and Anarcho legend Chris Low and was ten years in the making. There are also a couple of previously unreleased mixes included. It
comes as a high quality double vinyl pressing, and has a full colour sleeve with back and front images designed by the legendary Gee Vaucher. It also comes with a 6 page fold out
poster on one side with detailed sleeve notes, recollections and essays on the other side.

Anarcho Punk was the one sub-genre of Punk that emerged in isolation from the rock & roll establishment. During its pioneering days of the early 1980s it thrived in opposition to the music industry, existing as a fiercely underground alternative to the bands, labels and venues of the commercialised mainstream Punk scene. It continues to do so.

Anarcho Punk represented one of the last truly underground and autonomous music movements ever witnessed and
remains a movement that has never sold out and has never gone away. The major differentiation between the Anarcho Punk acts and the more traditional Punk outfits was that for the former, albeit often more due to musical limitation than intent, the message was more important than the music. Standard song structures were often dispensed with in favour of a relentless lyrical polemic accompanied by a similarly uncompromising aural assault. As the scene grew, so did the diversity of records that emerged under the Anarcho Punk umbrella: from D
&V (drums & vocals) to the proto-EBM synth-pop of Belfast’s one-man Hit Parade and the Dadaist Beefheart hybrid of
The Cravats. In later days the two biggest acts of the scene, Flux of Pink Indians and Crass themselves, both released
LPs which had more in common with improv Jazz than hardcore punk.
The resounding victory of Anarcho Punk is that it is now the unifying soundtrack to a culture of resistance that spans
Scotland to Indonesia and remains without compromise. It is still as removed from mainstream music and oppositional to
conventional culture as it was over forty years ago and shows no sign of changing. Quite the opposite: the more popular

Anarcho Punk becomes the less it has to engage with the music establishment and the more control it can enjoy. In
2023, that message remains as uncompromising as ever.

A1 Zounds Can’t Cheat Karma 00:02:43
A2 Honey Bane Girl on the Run 00:03:59
A3 Crass Bloody Revolutions 00:06:45
A4 Annie Anxiety Hello Horror 00:05:40
B1 Flux of Pink Indians Tube Disasters 00:04:07
B2 Andy T Death is Big Business 00:01:29
B3 Poison Girls Underbitch 00:04:18
B4 Alternative Anti-Christ 00:04:41
B5 The Cravats Rub Me Out 00:05:47
C1 The Apostles Mob Violence (unreleased studio version) 00:04:13
C2 Lack of Knowledge We’re Looking for People 00:04:03
C3 Hit Parade Here’s What You Find in Any Prison 00:03:08
C4 Hagar the Womb Idolisation 00:02:48
C5 Alternative TV The Force is Blind 00:03:48
D1 Chumbawamba Revolution 00:04:46
D2 The Ex Aye Carmela 00:03:13
D3 D;V Conscious (Pilot) 00:02:58
D4 The Mob No Doves Fly Here (unreleased studio version) 00:06:20

Other Releases by Various Artists

You might also like…