Billy Childish And The Singing Loins At The Bridge

Damaged Goods
24th March 2023

Format Info

Black Vinyl LP

In Memory of Chris Broderick of the Singing Loins, who passed away earlier this year. Damaged Goods proudly present a vinyl reissue of this Medway folk classic. A re-issue of one of our favourite early releases and a rather overlooked classic album, a one-off collaboration between Billy Childish and legendary Medway folkies The Singing Loins.

This was recorded in 1993 when Billy was in Thee Headcoats and The Singing Loins were in their first incarnation. The Singing Loins formed in late 1990, a two piece band playing “Authentic raw folk from the Medway Delta”. They were Chris Broderick on vocals/stick and Chris ‘Arfur’ Allen on guitar. They had recorded two classic albums before this both of which were released on Billy’s own Hangman records.

The album features a few Childish classics reworked including ‘You Make Me Die’ and ‘Every Bit Of Me’ as well as 4 tracks written by Billy & The Loins especially for this album.


1. The Bitter Cup
2. Pocahontas Was Her Name
3. The Hanged Man’s Dance
4. You Make Me Die
5. I Don’t Like The Man That I Am
6. The Double Axe
7. At The Bridge
8. Every Bit Of Me
9. Somebody Else
10. The Ferry Man (Zeebrugge)
11. One Day You Die
12. Brimfull of Hate
13. Dragging Through This
14. One More Bottle to Drink