Cabaret Voltaire The Covenant, the Sword and the Arm of the Lord

17th June 2022

Format Info

Limited White Vinyl

Known for being the harder, more experimental album of their “Pop” period, ‘The Covenant, The Sword and The Arm of The Lord’ was originally released in 1985 and includes the classic ‘I Want You’. The album embodys Cabaret Voltaire’s industrial electro-funk sound and their punk ethos, lending its title to American political extremism.

Cabaret Voltaire were very much ahead of their time, harmonising dance music, techno, dub, house and experimental electronics, making them, without a doubt, one of the most influential acts in electronic music.
…The Covenant, the Sword and the Arm of the Lord is an exercise in paranoia with anxiety coded into the jittery sample-heavy structures of the music itself.” – Spectrum Culture
It’s a pacier, funkier album than the 1984 effort, but it also it more abrasive and strange and holds together better…” – The

A1 L21ST
A2 I Want You
A3 Hells Home
A4 Kickback
A5 The Arm Of The Lord
B1 Warm
B2 Golden Halos
B3 Motion Rotation
B4 Whip Blow
B5 The Web

Other Releases by Cabaret Voltaire