The Suede Crocodiles Stop The Rain

Optic Nerve
1st April 2022

Stephen's Pick

View All Staff Picks

Format Info

7" - Signed

Limited to 750 copies. Pressed on Blue Vinyl. Includes postcard and poster. Our copies come with an additional sticker set and are signed by Kevin McDermott.

Formed in post-Postcard Glasgow as Popgun, Kevin McDermott (vocals/ guitar), Davie McCormick (drums), and Ross Drummond (bass/vocals) were joined by Roddy Johnson (guitar/vocals). In 1983, they changed their name to The Suede Crocodiles and released ‘Stop the Rain’ on the NoStrings label. Single of the Week in both NME and Melody Maker, this jagged-edged, spiky pop-punk single caught the ear of many. The Suede Crocodiles went on to tour the UK with Nick Heyward. The band split before releasing their second single, ‘Paint Yourself A Rainbow’ with songwriter and lead vocalist Kevin McDermott going on to form the Kevin McDermott Orchestra and having a successful solo career.

You might also like…