Meursault Meursault

Common Grounds
7th July 2023

Format Info

Black Vinyl

The critically acclaimed, Scotland-based music collective Meursault return this summer with their sixth full-length album. Based around the song writing of Neil Scott Pennycook, the self-titled album follows on from Pissing On Bonfires/Kissing With Tongues (2008), All Creatures Will Make Merry (2010), Something For The Weakened (2012), I Will Kill Again (2017), and Crow Hill (2019). Featuring Pennycook on guitar, piano, samples, synth and vocals, the record also features Drew Boyd (baritone guitar, violin, mandolin), Robyn Dawson (violin, vocals), Calum MacLeod (guitar, bass, vocals), Fionnbarr Byrne (synth, violin, guitar, vocals), Emma Capponi (flute, piccolo, vocals), Reuben Taylor (organ) and Graeme Young (drums). Recorded on Isle of Skye at ‘The House on the Rock’ the album will be released on Edinburgh’s Common Grounds Records.

Originally conceived as linear story (with the characters ‘Meursault’ and ‘Sarah’, making their way from Europe in search of America in a post-apocalyptic world) the narrative was dropped in favour of something with a broader approach, meaning the lyrics and themes of the record could become more personal in nature. Influences for the album include Neil Young’s On the Beach, Threads, SWANS, Cormac McCarthy’s The Road, Richard Adams’ The Plague Dogs and Robert C. O’Brien’s Z For Zechariah.