Pia Fraus Evening Colours

29th September 2023

Stephen's Pick

View All Staff Picks

Format Info

LP - Purple Vinyl
LP - clear vinyl

Estonian dream-poppers ‘Pia Fraus’ formed in 1998 and released six studio albums and a handful of EP’s on various record labels worldwide. Their collective sound is a sublime mixture of dream-pop, subtle shoegaze and beautiful electronica all topped off blissfully with shimmering layered vocalisations.

This time, the band consists of Kristel  Eplik (vocals), Eve Komp (vocals, synth), Kärt Ojavee (synth), Rein Fuks (guitar, synth,  percussion), Reijo Tagapere (bass), Joosep Volk (drums).  Estonian indie-legend Pia Fraus is releasing a brand new album after a few years break. The 11- track album is called “Evening Colours”

Celebrating the 26th year together. The album features several well[1]known artists; the strings on “Evening Colours”, for example, have been arranged by by Sean O ´Hagan, who is known as a member of The High Llamas, Stereolab, and Microdisney. “I am glad he took the trouble of doing our stuff,” smiles Fuks.

The album sleeve is designed by Scottish artist, Annabel Wright, whose record sleeves and illustrations Fuks, being a big The Pastels’ fan, has been admiring already from the end of 1990s